Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Re use of tinctures in DIY juice

Re use of tinctures in DIY juice

Please forgive me if this question has been asked before...I am a professional distiller who makes tictures for flavoured vodka's, liqueurs etc. I have made tinctures of David Austin rose petals, cloves, cardamon,bitters etc ...they have steeped in 95.6% azeotrope alcohol...I was wondering if I need to boil off the alcohol from the oils before using these as flavourings...they are very concentrated, so I should not need much. OR if I could just use VG and let the alcohol break down the viscosity...This is my first try at this ...so any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Cheers
    Doc

AVF Regular
    I would boil off .. but other hand wouldn't hurt have alcohol in it still give extra bite I used to add 1ml vodka to VG 100% to water it down little ...
    http://forums.aussievapers.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2478&dateline=1380789817

AVF Regular
    If they are oils I'd be wary. Not sure if they're the same but essential oils in juices have been known to react with polycarbonate and crack it (I.e. clearos and cartomizer tracks)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

AVF Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by X-BoNeS-X View Post
    I would boil off .. but other hand wouldn't hurt have alcohol in it still give extra bite I used to add 1ml vodka to VG 100% to water it down little ...
    Alcohol in very small amounts is OK, two or three drops per 5/10ml is sometimes used to thin a thick VG e-liquid. In large amounts it can be a short term intoxicant. I don't believe the long term affects of using alcohol this way has really been studied (but you might have more information on this subject) and the use of personal vaporisers for inhaling anything other than PG, VG, Nicotine and flavourings is not encouraged or supported here. ;- )