Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: Doublers, are they really?

AVF Regular

Doublers, are they really?

Hi All,

Are 'doublers' always, really doublers?

I'm new to these things really, but having spent too long trying to make crap liquids work, then making my own and then getting my hands on some doublers over Christmas (when I was in the land of the doubler!), I've decided that they're what I'd like to do, but I'm finding that 'doubler' isn't actually it.

It's not a bad thing, but I've found that simply adding the same volume as what's in the bottle (with that handy extra space in it) ends up, more often than not, too strong.

Exhibit A; I just took delivery of a few bottles from the Steamery (thanks!), and as I was running quite low, decided to mix up the one flavour that didn't need much time to settle down and mellow out, berrylicious it's called.

Mixed it up 50:50 with some VG, PG and the required nicotine and tried it out. Not that nice actually. Not too bad going in, coming out a bit of an astringent taste. Anyway, just not right. Decided it was probably overkill strong, took out a small bottle's worth of it and added 20% PG and hey presto, lovely. Going from "berry, blech" to "that's blueberry, and that's raspberry and I think there's orange in there too?" is kind of noticeable.

(And FTR, this stuff is pretty danged good once dialed in!)

What are your experiences with these things? Are they just right, too strong or not strong enough? It seems to me that it's variable depending on where it comes from (W&W doublers were bang on the money I think, maybe too strong but still good at that potency) but I'm wondering if I need to fiddle and fudge a little to find what's nice for me and what I'm running it through.

The "what I'm running it through" is also hugely important. A single coil Avocado gave me nothing but a hint, doubling the coils nearly took my head off, and that was great. Single coil blocks got 'lost'.