Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Steno
  • 1 Post By Stoney

Thread: Hybrid gauze wick: Stockholm wick

Exclamation Hybrid gauze wick: Stockholm wick

G'day! I'm from the antipode. We don't have vaping forums up here because people use 'snus' (wet snuff, Swedish) instead. I am fairly new to vaping, and a couple of days ago I fabricated my first mesh wick for my AGA-T+. It's a new kind of wick that works so good so I want to strike a blow for it. I want to know what people think. I have noted that people have had problems with mesh wicks so I decided to try a hybrid variant. (Possibly this has been invented before, but I haven't seen it.) I rolled cotton gauze (6 ply) loosely into a little "rope" and rolled ss mesh around it. The mesh layer is very thin (contrary to how a mesh wick is normally made, namely as a stiff tube consisting of many layers.) In this case the mesh only needs to cover the gauze rope. I rolled it like a cigarette until it just fitted into the wick hole. There is probably only around 2 layers of mesh to cover the gauze. (I don't know what's ideal.) One should make the wick just as big so that it fits perfectly into the hole, I believe, not to compress the cotton too much(?).

(edited) I leave a tail of gauze on the bottom (in the tank) to improve wicking. I also leave a tail at the top, which I fold down on all sides. Then I put only one layer of gauze over that, to remove conductivity. This method ensures that the cotton is kept wet, I hope. Since this wick is flexible, I bent it slightly toward the center post to remove the hot spot that tends to occur between it and the wick.