Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: RBA coil/wick life?

RBA coil/wick life?

Hey all, im not a beginner but by no means an expert. Ive been experimenting with different coil setups with the phoenix clone and have only managed to get a coil/wick lifetime of about 2 days (chain vaping). Im not using dark juice. I was wondering if this is normal and what in your opinion is the best coil method.. I have been using 34g Kanthal with 2mm silica wick doubled up. avg at 2.5ohm @ 7.5w.

Thanks in advance!

AVF Regular
    That's a tough one. A lot of the time it comes down to juice (but your not using a dark one) and also silica quality. Depending on the juice I get between 7-21 days and I use very clear juices.

Also depends if you vape saturated or dryer. It's a very tough and subjective question.

I find I only get about 3 days out of a coil if I vape organic mango from VM but if I vape a DIY menthol I can get up to 3 weeks or more off an RBA. I think it's not just down to clear juices but also flavour. Hope this helps.

2x SS GGTS, 2x GGTS, 2x UFS, 2x Ody + extension kit, 2x GG Slim, GGTB, 2x Provari, Reo Grand Kicked, 2 x cyclone with AFC, ERA RBA, 2x Quasar, 2x Tohb, 2x Zenith V2, Nemesis, Hades, Supermax, Copper Black Stingray JiB box mod and so much more

AVF Regular
    Maybe a thicker guage kanthal may help. 32AWG even.

I was getting about a week on a phoenix with vinnys 2.5mm wick with a daily rinse and dry burn before vapor would drop off a lot. On tear down it was apparent the wick was disintegrating under the heater. Using 3mm wick from silicawicks, it does not seem to disintegrate as much but the phoenix is harder to fit 3mm stuff into and I moved to the aga-t with silica, I have used a wick for 3 weeks before replacing it but only cause I thought it needed replacing .. it didn't.