Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Coils and varying resistance on different atties

Coils and varying resistance on different atties

I'm still pretty new to rebuildable drippers, I started on an IGO-W and then an IGO-L. My first coils were 5 wraps of 32 gauge, on doubled 2mm wick. I found with those, time after time, I was getting 2.2 ohms.
    Then I started doing 4 wraps, and consistently got 1.9 ohms.

Today I got a Trident, and did the same 4 wrap build as usual - and it came in at 1.7 ohms. I don't mind - I was wanting to get lower ohms (without going to shorter coils).

So do you find that different atties will give you different resistances with a similar coil build? Is it due to the materials being used, perhaps for example the Trident has less inherent resistance - or is it just a fluke ?

Super Moderator
    Tighter wrap perhaps?? Shouldn't be the material the atty is made from ...
    Robray and spurius like this.
    Ignore the Super-moderator tag in my profile, I have resigned from that position but admin have not updated my profile as yet

AVF Regular
    Grumpy Old man, Living inPerth Northern suburbs
    Quote Originally Posted by gtadmin View Post
    Tighter wrap perhaps?? Shouldn't be the material the atty is made from ...

No, but it could be the way the coils are terminated. Maybe one setup is more efficient than the other??
    gtadmin and spurius like this.
    Because I trust no-one Who tells me FACTS with no proof

Super Moderator
    True, but the IGO-x are screw terminated so should be good. The way to test it would be to use the same coil in both atties, twice. Compare the resistance for all 4 tests.
    spurius likes this.
    Ignore the Super-moderator tag in my profile, I have resigned from that position but admin have not updated my profile as yet