Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Vendor for decent silica wicks?

Vendor for decent silica wicks?

I've been buying 2mm Silica wicks from VapeKing for the past 2 months and from time to time I guess a bad tasting silica that doesn't go after even after a full tank but sometimes I get good silica and the it gives off good taste even after the first pull. So I'm wondering if there's a vendor that's consistent with the quality of their silica that isn't overpriced.. I've noticed VapingCobra and their 5 meters for $4 silica but not sure of the quality.

Or is there a way to prepare the silica to ensure I get a good taste all the time?

Were you torching it before adding juice?

It's a good idea to torch the ever living shit out of it which will burn off anything that might be on the wick like oil from machines, your hands, and most other crap that could have got in it during manufacture, packaging and transit.

If you wanted to try something different vapersphere carry ecowool which is braided silica, and tends to hold together better, but it loves to fray at the ends. I recommend you wrap up the end bit with a few turns of silica and twist it tight to prevent fraying.

I am waiting for some to arrive so I can test the 3mm ecowool stuffed with 2mm ecowool theory as shown in this video

Helios-stuffed 3mm with 2mm ekowool 2 wrap gat wire - YouTube

Looks like it will solve the issue of 3mm ecowool going flat like a ribbon which makes it hard to wrap nice round coils on it.
    Meeuwsy likes this.

To prepare Silica... Torch, coil then dry burn...

spawn_8 and Meeuwsy like this.

Quote Originally Posted by darkhorsefkn View Post
    Were you torching it before adding juice?

It's a good idea to torch the ever living shit out of it which will burn off anything that might be on the wick like oil from machines, your hands, and most other crap that could have got in it during manufacture, packaging and transit.