Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By coopz

Thread: burnt tasting coil :(

AVF Regular

burnt tasting coil :(

Hey guys im new to coiling and ive just recoiled my protank coils. I torched the crap out of them before i put them in there but am getting a slight burnt taste undertone. Its came out at 3OHMs and im vaping it at 3.5volts on my provari. The vapor isnt quite there either, its ok but not the usual clouds i get with a new protank coil. What am i doing wrong?

I had the same problem, I couldn't fix it because there was nothing to fix.
    But with your's, are the coils wrapped in close contact (but not too tight?)
    When you dry fire it, are there any hot spots (parts that instantly glow red, parts that glow red way way before the rest of the coil does?) If so, that is the problem.

If not, then you are in the same boat as me.

edit: 3.5 v is a little low for 3ohm too, maybe it will work itself out at a higher voltage? That is if the coil has good wick contact and there's no hot spots.
    Last edited by coopz; 02-10-13 at 10:32 PM.

AVF Regular
    thanx coopz. I didnt dry fire it. And i mistyped there its actually 2OHMs. I thought if i dry fired it it would stuff the coil up?(newb) You say you couldnt fix it? So you dont bother recoiling them anymore? I got the wick and wire pre wraped 10 pack from Fasttech if that makes a difference.

Only did my first one a few days ago for fun. Have plenty of spare factory coils, so I just put the home made coils on the back burner until I need them (maybe next year or if I get a RDA or RBA before then). It was just because I was bored really, I'm a n00b too.

Yeah you need to dry fire it, you need to do that with coils while cleaning them every week or 2 weeks anyway. It won't harm the coil or silica wick (don't do it with cotton wicks).