Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Dna20 Question.

AVF Regular

Cool Dna20 Question.

Okay so im using the fasttech version, so maybe this dowsnt apply to the originals, i dont know. I put a 2.4ohm coil in my dna20 and it reads 7.0W, the atomizer showing at 2.4v and the voltage showing at 4.2v. I wanted to make it vape a bit less hot so i put in a 3.0ohm coil. So now its showing 3.0ohm, 7W and 4.6V! Its actually firing hotter? So how does this work? Im new to dna's but shouldnt a higher ohm coil fire less hot than a lower ohm? Im still firing it at the same watt setting but getting higher voltage. Can someone explain that to me or is my build a bit dodgy? It seems to vape well enough though. How do i make a vape thats not so hot?

lmb
    AVF Regular
    If you want to make the vape cooler, you should be adjusting the wattage. A higher ohm coil will need more voltage to reach your desired wattage. Consider the wattage as the constant in your calculations.
    steve.c likes this.

AVF Regular
    As with above, the higher the coil resistance, the higher the voltage required.
    3.0 ohm @ 7w = 4.6v
    2.4 ohm @ 7w = 4.2v
    1.8 ohm @ 7w = 3.5v
    1.4 ohm @ 7w = 3.1v

And so on, and so forth. (TheEcigStop.com - Your quest for the best e-cig ends here! - OHM, AND JOULES LAW CALCULATOR)

What atty are you building the coil for?
    steve.c likes this.

AVF Regular
    Put a lower ohm coil and the Voltage will go lower with still 7 watts. But then it is regulated so you still get 7 watts output no matter what ohm you do.

Is 7 watts really hot for you? It is a low wattage for me..

What atomizer are you using?

AVF Regular
    The DNA20 won't go any lower; if you're looking for a cooler vape a kick 2 will go down to 5w or most 14mm mods will do this too.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

AVF Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeug View Post