Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Difference between Volts and Watts?

Difference between Volts and Watts?

Hi,
    Eg.
    Variable Voltage: 3.0 6.0 volts
    Variable Wattage: 3.0 15.0 W

How does voltage and watts relate to how an e-cig function?

AVF Regular
    Vaping E-Cigs Voltage Vs. Watts - YouTube
    Understanding Variable Voltage / Variable Wattage E-cigs
    E-Cigarette Forum

and probably somewhere here too. too long to write on that subject at this time.

sleepy.
    amount saved by not smoking: $lots
    amount spent on vaping: $not enough

I'm a relative noob, but doesn't it just mean that:

- If you're adjusting voltage manually, the mod will adjust wattage accordingly to suit.
    - If you're adjusting wattage manually, the mod will adjust voltage to suit.

All things being equal, nothing should have to be adjusted by the mod automatically, but in reality things change. Your coil might change resistance depending on environment/juice/degradation/swapping tanks or your battery drops voltage over time. As you would generally prefer vaping at a certain wattage sweet spot (whether you realise it or not), you should just set the mod to that particular wattage, and it will adjust voltage accordingly to maintain a consistent vape. I think....

I don't have a mod yet (but it's in the mail!).

AVF Regular
    Wattage is a measure of power, or in simpler terms for our purposes the amount of electricity is converted to heat at the coil. It a function of the voltage and the resistance of the coil, specifically voltage x voltage / resistance.

With variable voltage you have the ability to adjust the voltage directly, which when taking a particular coil resistance into account will result in a given wattage.

With variable wattage devices, you can adjust the desired power, or heat, while letting the device pick the calculated voltage based on the measured resistance of the coil attached.