Like Tree6Likes
  • 2 Post By tandem.biscuit
  • 2 Post By fad
  • 2 Post By Fatman

Thread: Variation in USB charging time

Variation in USB charging time

I have a Kanger EVOD VV (variable voltage) 1000 mAh battery, which I charge with a USB charger from computers. From my floor-standing PC at work it takes about 5.5 hours to charge, but from my Toshiba laptop it takes about 3.5 hours. What would account for such a large difference?

I notice this too between my laptop, desktop and phone charger.

I'm no expert, but believe it has something to do with the USB port's mA output.
    Fatman and Hidden1 like this.

You would think that USB ports would conform to some standard and be not too different.

I have been told by one of the tech guys at work that all the sockets on my work PC are USB 3.0, even though some are blue and some black. On the laptop the guy in the shop said only one socket is a "fast" USB (the blue one, and I assume that's USB 3.0), but that's not the one I use to charge the battery. It would be surprising to me if the most advanced USB has lower current than earlier versions.

fad
    AVF Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by triton View Post
    You would think that USB ports would conform to some standard and be not too different.
    Just like all 510 atomizers & mod connectors work perfectly together.

Quote Originally Posted by triton View Post
    I have been told by one of the tech guys at work that all the sockets on my work PC are USB 3.0,
    even though some are blue and some black. On the laptop the guy in the shop said only one socket is a "fast" USB
    (the blue one, and I assume that's USB 3.0), but that's not the one I use to charge the battery. It would be surprising
    to me if the most advanced USB has lower current than earlier versions.
    More advanced does not mean "more power", it means "more smarts". It's entirely likely that the port