Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Beginner's RBA Questions

AVF Regular

Beginner's RBA Questions

Hi all!

I'm about to take the plunge into purchasing an RBA. Although I have read a fair bit of info around the topic, I'm still an absolute beginner, hence I have some (hopefully simple!) questions to ask before I dive in. If you kind folk would indulge me with some answers I would be most grateful! Here goes...

1. What essential gear will I need?
    I'm assuming kanthal wire (28g, as I plan on building coils around 1-1.5 ohm. Does this sound right?) and cotton for wicking is a must. So other than an RBA of my choice, is there anything else that is absolutely essential to get the ball rolling? For the sake of comprehensive answers (and hopefully having this thread be more useful to others too), please assume I have no equipment or tools at home already. Though speaking of RBAs...

2. What decent value RBA would you recommend for beginners?
    I realise that there are a stack of variables here, and much may come down to personal preference. That said, if you could recommend just the one RBA for a beginner, which would you choose? And why?

At the moment, I'm currently vaping on Nautilus tanks, and looking at the Kanger Subtank Mini. I like the subtank mainly because it seems pretty versatile with the additional option of using premade coils. Not hell bent on subohming, but having the option is nice should I want to indulge in the future. Personally, I also like a large tank size as I'm often on the go during the day, so 4.5ml capacity is about the smallest that would be convenient for me. Larger would be good too, but certainly not essential. Finally, being a "starving student", budget is definitely a constraint, though if a genuinely better option is available I'm happy to wait a little longer and save some more pennies. There's no rush at this stage. But on saving pennies...