Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: TC - Am I doing it right? Or why am I not enjoying it.

AVF Newbie | Be nice to me

TC - Am I doing it right? Or why am I not enjoying it.

Hi AV,

I have been vaping for 6 months or so started with cigalikes, then vape-pens then onto mech and VW mods like the kanger subox. I went through all the stages relatively quickly always looking for the next upgrade. I recently got some Ni200 coils for the subtank and have used them on the Hcigar HB40. I ranged the device 300F-420F temp wise and tried from 20-35W with out much enjoyment.

The taste was lower than with 1.5 VOCC coils, alot warmer than I'm used to as well. I played around with the settings but really could find a combination I enjoyed.

I am an ex-smoker and use the mouth-to-lung style (not direct lung inhales) could this be the issue? As the Ni200 coils are really low (starting) resistance are they only designed for direct lung inhales?

I already have 2 more TC devices on the way. It wont be a massive issue just to use them in non temp controlled mode I just feel it is a bit of a waste and like I'm missing out on something everyone speaks very highly about.

Let me know if I'm missing something or if the TC coils are really intended for MTL inhales.

Cheers guys
    Insta

AVF Regular
    With what you state I wonder if the watts is too low. With TC, the device will regulate the watts once the desired temp is reached. Having low watts will cause a slower ramp up time and perhaps that time exceeds the time you draw for MTL. Try the watts higher so the coil heats quickly, let the TC mod do it's thing, maybe that will give you a satisfying vape. I don't MTL so my advice could be total rubbish.
    Last cigarette, 11:00 AM 11th March 2015.

AVF Regular