Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Twin wick single coil theory

Twin wick single coil theory

So after seeing the many varied techniques, and ideas on setting up genny's my mind started ticking. I thought the twin wick/twin coil setup was cool. Double the vapour! Double the current used too unfortunately. I'd be guessing battery life would be halved?
    Any way the reasoning behind this exercise was the thinking that.
    As the juice works it's way up the wick to the coil it reaches the bottom winding first. I'm thinking that at the top winding the wick is getting pretty dry, as a lot has been vapourized by the bottom windings on it's way up. Make sense?
    So I thought two wicks drawing up twice the juice with 2/3 windings of one coil on each. Maintaining the same resistance, and current draw as you would with a single coil/wick combination, but the flavour would be cleaner, as top, and bottom half of the coil are just as wet.
    I'm not too good at explaining, but I'm sure you smart folk will get the gist.
    Seems to be working pretty well so far. Need a bit oftweaking still. I folded the resistance wire over itself and twisted it where it spans between the coils. Would rather no-res wire for it, but don't have any, but it seems to do the job.
    So any input, comments, ridicule gladly accepted DSC00120.jpgDSC00119.jpg

Excuse the pic quality.. must find that camera..

Forgot to mention the added bonus of keeping one airhole aimed directly between the wicks.
    Last edited by davee; 21-01-13 at 01:03 PM.
    bugzme and scaramus like this.

The theory makes a lot of sense.
    I have some no resistance wire on its way but I don't think it will be here for a couple of weeks but when it arrives I can send you some if you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Bullos View Post
    The theory makes a lot of sense.