Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree183Likes

Thread: E-Cigs in Oz Doomed

E-Cigs in Oz Doomed

Hi All

Now that I have your attention I hope that you will please take the time to read on.

Obviously I’m a newbie to e-Cigs and this Forum and that makes me a little reluctant to stick my head on the chopping block as the “new kid on the block” but here goes anyway.

Any of you who have been reading my Journey journal will know that I took my first vape just over one week ago and that I was an instant convert and very impressed.

Haven’t had a smoke since my first vape and don’t feel like one. Still very impressed but I do have some concerns about the future of e-Cigs in Oz based upon what seems to be going on in other parts of the world and more importantly what doesn’t seem to be going on in Oz.

Briefly and purely from a personal perspective my primary concerns are twofold:

* Nicotine Availability - Why can’t I get high quality nic’ juice in Oz?
    (This is rhetorical, I do know the answer.)

* Regulation/Tax - How will Governments regulate and tax e-Cigs and nic’ juice in the future?

I do have some other concerns relating to the wider community but now is not the time for me to air those.

I was surprised, when I did a little bit more digging, to find that there does not appear to be an active association of e-Cig users endeavouring to look after their interests/future.

I did find ATACA and soundasleeps fantastic efforts aimed in that direction but unfortunately other pressures have intervened to interrupt and for the time being at least derail soundasleeps endeavours.

So it seems to me that the rest of us have two choices:

1. Do nothing and let events get manipulated by others who have their own agendas to run. (The results probably won’t be very palatable for us though.)

2. Get together, form a united voice and endeavour to achieve an outcome that is in our best interest. (Easy to say, not so easy to achieve and requires a bit of effort.)