Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Like Tree493Likes

Thread: Want to smoke? Get a licence!

Retired Account

Want to smoke? Get a licence!

Experts want smokers to get licence to light up | News.com.au

I hope they bring in a licence to breed as well.
    Perhaps a licence to engage on the internet too!

Quote Originally Posted by mrsgruffy View Post
    Experts want smokers to get licence to light up | News.com.au

I hope they bring in a licence to breed as well.
    Perhaps a licence to engage on the internet too!
    Seems like a good idea to me, there's nothing smart or clever about smoking.

I pick up the kids from school and see 15 year olds lighting up and smoking. Yes, a license would be a very good idea.

I'm not a proud smoker, nor am I a proud vaper, I am just choosing the less of two evils.

Cheers,
    Caff.
    Samtron and Vapez like this.

Super Moderator
    Who will police it? Kids will still obtain smokes through someone 'licenced' to purchase them..

If they are free no worries, another tax avenue? Likely.
    spud likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by juddyau View Post
    Who will police it? Kids will still obtain smokes through someone 'licenced' to purchase them..

If they are free no worries, another tax avenue? Likely.
    They may still obtain them from someone else buying them, but at the moment a 15 year old can go into any shop (baring a tobaconist, woolworths or coles) and buy cigarettes as the shop keepers don't care and just want to make money.

Introducing a license suddenly makes it a lot more official and while, yes, kids may still obtain smokes, how many kids do you see driving cars?

Cheers,
    Caff.
    Vapez likes this.

AVF Regular
    this is a contentious issue. would possibly limit ciggy availability, create a black market, maybe even reduce smoking rates.

would be a nightmare to enforce.