Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree112Likes

Thread: British Medical Journal Will no longer accept papers from Tobacco Industry

British Medical Journal Will no longer accept papers from Tobacco Industry

http://www.bmj.com/content/347/bmj.f5193

BMJ have now decided that they will no longer accept any science from the tobacco industry.

As a scientist, I am fucking appalled by this. Absolutely appalled.

To deny science from any person based on who they are, or who paid them is unacceptable. Science should be judged on the experimental approach itself and the reproducibility of the results. Science is blind to funding sources.

This is an ad hominem attack on a major scale. A scientific journal with an impact fact over 15 should not be doing this.

They even added this paragraph.

Some who work within public health and who buy the notion of “harm reduction” argue that the companies that now produce modified cigarette products and non-cigarette tobacco products, including electronic nicotine delivery devices (e-cigarettes), are different from the tobacco industry of old, or that the tobacco industry has changed. For “hardened” cigarette smokers who can’t or won’t quit cigarettes,13 the argument goes, new tobacco products could represent potential public health gains, and company sponsored research may be the first to identify those gains.

But one fact remains unassailably true: the same few multinational tobacco companies continue to dominate the market globally and, as smaller companies develop promising products, they are quickly acquired by the larger ones. However promising any other products might be, tobacco companies are still in the business of marketing cigarettes.

"Who buy the notion of “harm reduction”?" "Who BUY the notion?" Who the hell does BMJ think they are to dismiss harm reduction like that?!

And look who chimes in to see if non-tobacco ecig companies get the same exclusive treatment.