AVF Newbie | Be nice to me

SBS: Trust Us, We Know What's Good For You

Really pissed off with SBS right now.

Yesterday (June 27th) they ran S2E3 of Michael Mosley: Trust Me, I'm A Doctor. This link is SBS on-demand. I've just played it and it's identical in content to the FTA telecast. It expires on 11 July so in light of that, I'll note the SBS synopsis for the record:

Does caffeine really help us to stay alert and what are the alternatives? In this programme some surprising ways to boost our brains are put to the test. Also medical journalist Michael Mosley examines the growing trend for electronic cigarettes and asks if they are safe. Dr Chris van Tulleken investigates if household chores can count as exercise. Dr Saleyha Ahsan gives first-aid tips on how to treat someone suffering from hypothermia and surgeon Gabriel Weston sees life-saving surgery that involves removing all the blood from a patient's body. (Part 3 of 3) (From the UK) (Documentary) (Health/Science) (Rpt) G CC
    Runtime: 49:39 (take note).

Now, let's look at the same piece on the BBC2 iPlayer:
    Synopsis identical word for word.
    Runtime: 1 hour Ding-ding!

So...in order to squeeze in their ads and run to a 1 hour window, SBS, in their infinite wisdom decided a high-risk surgery performed on <1% of the population was more relevant to Australian public health than the e-cig segment, which was absent. In fact, I'll bet that surgery isn't even performed in Australia!
    Makes sense. A last-ditch, near-death corrective surgery vs. proven harm minimisation strategy that has our gutless legislators and their TGA lapdog cowering in the dark corners of ignorance.