• 2 Post By Wombats1
  • 5 Post By Noe
  • 2 Post By Nothingexpert
  • 1 Post By Wombats1

Thread: In the West today?

AVF Newbie | Be nice to me

In the West today?

https://thewest.com.au/news/wa/wa-e-...-ng-b88522950z

I might be stupid or "blissfully unaware" but, according to this article, it is ILLEGAL for me to vape nicotine e-liquid in WA?!?!

I simply don't understand this, I know that you can't buy or sell e-cigs and related goods in WA but I thought it was perfectly legal for me to import my own couple of months supply of nico juice for personal use...and have been doing this for a couple of years now, without issue.

Can anyone shed some light on this as no doubt I will have non-vaping friends quoting this article to me very soon.

The article just has me scratching my head.

AVF Regular
    Im no expert, but I use this definition.

Electronic cigarettes in Western Australia

It is very very murky in Western Australia,

Purchasing/selling juice without nic is ok, "apparently" though TC will not tell you so.

Use is allowed with or without nic according to what I have found with each "business" creating policy regarding use of vapes on premises.

Hope this helps
    Yonjuro likes this.
    Smoke free since april 2016

Thanks Wombats - the link you show is basically what my impression was too.

I always assume that you can't vape in a non-smoking area. That is a given really. but this article says this ;

“Furthermore, users may be blissfully unaware that it is illegal to sell or use nicotine-based e-cigarettes.” - my query is in regards the word "use"

AVF Regular
    Yes indeed,

"E-cigarettes have recently been the cause of disputes in some public places due to the confusion they may cause if used in areas where smoking is not allowed.

Owners/managers may choose to implement a policy applying to their premises which prohibits the use of e-cigarettes wherever smoking is prohibited."