Like Tree5Likes
  • 5 Post By Ozzie

Thread: Where will the government get it's revenue?

Where will the government get it's revenue?

So the Australian government recieves BILLIONS of dollars through tax revenue from tobacco cigarette sales. I'm sure the general public would argue that that money goes towards paying for anti-smoking campaigns and public health costs associated with smoking analogue cigarettes. Whatever. The question I have is, what will happen when e-cigs eventually take a stronger hold of nicotine-addicted Australians?

Could they start taxing us on nicotine imports, vapour devices and maybe even a tax on mixing liquids? I always get worried about this.

Attachment 2776

(The above is just art work - if I've misrepresented any vendor or breached copyright, let the forum admin know, I'm not a lawyer, I just post things).
    Last edited by mavinry4; 12-07-12 at 09:16 AM. Reason: spelling

AVF Regular
    first off, it's never going to happen. vapers will always be a minority. a lot of people will use ecigs to quit outright. for some it'll work, for others it won't, for whatever reason...flavours, allergy to pg and inability to search past the first 3 results on google to find a real ecig shop instead of the the prefilled crap..or just not suited to vaping (it's not for everyone), of those it works for, i'd say a small amount would stick with it like we do. they see it as a means to an end, we just see it as a thing we do now instead of smoking.

as for what the government will do? more sin taxes. it's fairly common knowledge that tobacco taxes were never raised to make people quit, but in response to people quitting. they'll just keep doing that.

the majority of smokers won't change to ecigs, you would need to ban them outright to get them to stop.