Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree55Likes

Thread: First DIY mod

First DIY mod

After taking apart my Vmax and replacing the PCB with a Zmax board I got to thinking about building a mod from scratch. I read lots, asked lots of questions and then set about coming up with something I could do within the bounds of the tools I had access to.
    I’ve built lots of things in my life from event décor, to fire twirling props, to a mudbrick house so I am reasonable confident with taking on a challenge but I’ve never played with wiring and electronics before. This is my first attempt at building a mod. Before I started I looked around at lots of different designs and construction methods. In the end the limiting factor was the tools I had access to; a basic set of tools used in building, a Dremelike and a drill press.

The materials I used – a scrap piece of Tasmanian Blackwood, a sheet of 0.6mm thick brass, a Vamo PCB, a momentary switch some plumbing fittings and a 510 connector.

materials.jpg

First step was to cut the bit of blackwood in two an laminate them together. Once dry I cut the piece into rough shape I wanted.

block.jpg

Using a drill press, a couple of spade bits, I bored out the battery chute, holes for the button and 510 connector. Then using the drill press and a few chisels and a dremelike I made the hole to put the PCB and wiring in. Once I was happy with that I shaped the block using a coarse file, the trusty Dremelike and some sandpaper.

2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg
    Robray, margyb, eTama and 5 others like this.

Next was working out an aesthetically pleasing and functional way to access the battery. I searched about online for solutions in brass but nothing was right. I went for a wander through the plumbing section at the local and wallah! A solution at the bargain cost of $3.10 for the cap and sleeve. I put these in a lathe at work, turned the hex off them then drilled a breather hole and cut a coin slot with the trusty Dremelike.