• 3 Post By Hoofprint
  • 2 Post By DogMan
  • 1 Post By hank
  • 3 Post By Tara

Thread: (noob) convert variable to mechanical

AVF Regular

(noob) convert variable to mechanical

Hi,

I am new to vaping, have been using an ego-t and today I visited a vape shop and bought a variable mod and a hellboy RDA by el diablo. The resistance with one of the supplied coil fitted was .3 ohms (tested with a cheapo multimeter from the electronics shop). Unfortunately I am guessing due to the fact the shop owner told me it didn't support sub ohm vaping, the rda did not work, however my ego-t clearomizer did.

I want to convert it to a mechanical mod and was hoping that I could draw on your collective knowledge. I did see a video that mentioned a mosfet must be used as well as fuses to keep it safe. Can anyone tell me what types to use so I don't confuse the guy at the electronics store like today (unfortunately he didn't have much knowledge of vaping).

Thanks

AVF Regular
    i dont want to sound like the cruel guy, but the words New to vaping, Cheap, Convert it and mechanical mod should never be used in the same post.

its great you found vaping but mechanical mods are not for newbies, to much can go wrong.
    save up your dollars and buy something like an istick 100w, that will power coils down to 0.1 ohm safely.

these vids are little outdated but still full of useful information for newbie vapers
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mOl...BJoUbQWJcZr4At
    moza, DogMan and Danyel Geelong like this.

AVF Regular
    I'm a mechanical fitter and used to work on 440 volt bud

AVF Regular
    If the vape shop sold you 2 things incompatible with each other, a refund/replace is in the order. Beats spending more converting

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AVF Regular
    a mechanical mod is just a connection from positive battery terminal to centre post of 510, negative to outside 510, with a switch in there. No electronics