Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree185Likes

Thread: Vaping for people with OCD

Vaping for people with OCD

Hi, I'm really new to vaping but want to share my story. I have Aspergers, (considered high functioning on the Autism Spectrum), I have been self medicating with tobacco cigarettes for the last 20 years. I found that the repetitive actions in smoking were really soothing, and in a weird way the action became more addictive than the nicotine. When I was stressed I would chain smoke obsessively, if I wasn't smoking I would be obsessive about everything, which not only annoyed everyone around me, but it meant that I isolated myself from people so they didn't have to have my obsessive behaviour inflicted upon them. I had no idea that e cigs, (PV's) existed until I saw a post in a news forum about these things.

I had a look at them, the way they worked, and the chemicals used, (I research obsessively too ), and decided this was for me. I'm so very glad I did, as soon as my ecig arrived I charged it up and OMG it is brilliant. I can vape obsessively when stressed, without all the health implications from tobacco smoking. The hardware satisfies the nerd in me, (I will probably have many before long).

Anyone who is on the Autism Spectrum knows how repetitive actions can relieve stress and calm a person down in situations where there is stimulation overload, and many I know personally, on the AS, use tobacco cigarettes to self medicate, and they could really benefit from Vaping.

Thanks for such a great forum, I would be interested to see if anyone has had a similar experience

Well done spud, welcome aboard.

Thanks 2 days free of tobacco and counting. I love the taste of the ejuice, and I don't know if its some sort of psychological effect, or if its real, but I feel a difference already, in being able to smell better, and no coughing. Not sure if it happens this quick, but it sure feels good
    jen likes this.