Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: First ever build on Russian 91%

AVF Regular

First ever build on Russian 91%

Hi everyone,

Disclaimer: I have never try my hands on RBA, this is it, its my first time

Received my Russian today, so excited. Been watching quite a bit of video on building coil while waiting for the arrival.

The built I choose to follow is a video showing how to build a microcoil using m3 screw. I have been paying enough attention and its not hard to have it mount and fire away on my Russian. I am using 30g Kanthal wire, but I think I got too carried away and wrap a total of 9/10 wrap! The ohm was quite high at around 2.8, so I thought since the coil is built and glow evenly, I give it a go.

Vaping on it resulting a very nice flavor, nothing that I have experience before prior to this, non of the clearo I tried have that sort clarity in flavor, its almost like what you smell is what you taste! However, I think due to such high ohm (running on Sony 30a battery on a mech mod) I wasn't able to get good cloud... TH and flavor is more important to me, but because of the weak vapor reproduction, I am also not getting a good throat hit.

Please let me know if my assumption is correct? Maybe if anyone can suggest what wrap I should try using the 30g Kanthal?

Thanks everyone!

CMB
    AVF Regular
    Sounds like you are on the right track, but I would aim for about 1.2 - 1.4 ohm on a mech mod by using 28g Kanthal. Some may suggest lower resistance however thats where I like it.
    ckane, Mark B and yoshio like this.

AVF Regular

First ever build on Russian 91%

Hey, congrats on getting a working coil.
    I would definatly bring the ohm's down a lot. I find around 1.1ohm to be about right. Even up to 1.4. This can be achieved with 30g and is best to use around 1.8ish ID (inner diameter) coil. Somewhere around 7 wraps will give you this. A little trial and error will get it right.