Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Steeping 101

AVF Regular

Steeping 101

I've recently seen steeping in the context of single shots. I was under the impression steeping begins when adding nicotine to a flavour, or does the flavour itself need to steep?

Ok I'm a noob myself but the steeping does not start with the nicotene, it is the flavours that need to mature. My understanding and limited experience is fruits don't usually need a long steep, custards,creams, tobaccos take longer, at least a week, preferably more. There is a thread in here somewhere that I can't find right now on accelerated steeping. I'm sure someone will link to it. As for the nic, it can affect the flavours a little but in reality if you wanted you could add it just before using the liquid and give it a good shake to mix and you have your nic. Having said that it is usually added at mixing so all the flavours steep together.
    More experienced members feel free to shoot me down in flames if I am wildly out in this.
    merexy likes this.

AVF Regular
    I have been vaping for a while and should know this so don't apologize

But if what you are saying is correct there are 2 stages of steeping. When flavour is made and then again when nic is added?

No thats not quite right. I probably confused the issue for you so - the way I do it is, work out all the amounts of the different ingedients to go in the mix then in this order pg, vg, flavours, nic. Seal the bottle, shake the hell out of it and throw it in a cool dark place (a drawer in my study desk) for at least a week then vape away. If I think of it I might give it a shake every couple of days but thats it. Everything needs to mix and the flavours need to go through the mixture, this takes time. The flavours will mix and mature with or without the nic in the mixture, the nic itself does not require steeping time, the flavours do and the easiest time to add the nic is when you make up the mixture.