Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Another newbie - struggling a bit getting off the 'analogues'

Another newbie - struggling a bit getting off the 'analogues'

Hello all,

I am new to vaping, but not new to forums, so I know what it's like joining a new one. Same old questions, so I will hugely appreciate the effort anyone puts in to help. ( I know I try to help of the other forums I am a veteran of...)

I first tried electronic cigarettes with a small cigarette look-a-like in a chemist/drug store in the US last year. About the size of a regular king size fag and absolutely horrible. Revolting taste, very little vapour and a throat hit like a mule in all the wrong ways. I am a 30-year smoker, probably 30-odd a day and it had me coughing in an instant. I am really now a pipe smoker, but spent most of those 30 years on coffin nails. If I smoke durries it's Pall Mall Blue.

About a week ago I bought the Halo E-Cigarette to try again. Not sure if we can post links in this forum, so I won't, but they are available in Oz in 0 nic but I of course bought the nic version from overseas. It's another cig-a-like (i.e not their tank version) but bigger . A huge improvement and much better taste. The throat hit is satisfying, but still not enough vapour. I am going OK on it, but cannot quite get off the tobacco. I am on the 1.8% cartos. In analogue cigs-per-day terms I am probably down to 5-6, which is a huge improvement but I can't see it working long term. Even if I try the the 2.4% cartos, I still feel like a 'real' smoke a few times a day.

I put this down to my pipe habit. I like huge clouds of tasty 'smoke'.

Now having done some forum browsing and internet research I see I have made the same mistakes everyone else does when they start and spent too much on poor products. I have figured out that I like the cartomizer approach over a three part method though.