Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree48Likes

Thread: When/why to change coils

AVF Newbie | Be nice to me

When/why to change coils

Hi there,

I'm new to vaping and have bought an eGo Aio. It came with a few extra coils.

When am I meant to swap out the coils? Do they die, and how do I know?

Thanks
    Puckins

AVF Regular
    There are a bunch of different (and not all wrong) answers to this question...

Coils stop working completely, they stop working effectively and sometimes they're just dirty/flaky and depending on what the coil unit is decides what you do to correct the problem.

A coil that stops working but 'looks' ok might have a bad contact so a little cleaning and re-assembly might get it working again. So I tend to make sure a coil is genuinely non-functioning as best I can before I switch out one that looks ok.

A coil that's not working as well as it should (no/poor flavour, poor vapour, etc.) but is still working might be able to be re-wicked, cleaned or may need replacing. If you're willing to trade a little time and effort for a rejuventated coil then you can try cleaning/re-wicking/rebuilding a poorly working coil unit, but if not, replace it. The coils for the AIO aren't too expensive I don't think, so it might be better to replace one that's not working well rather than faff around with a well used one.

Ideally you should consider replacing a coil as soon as you think the one in there isn't working well. If you think it's off, it probably is. Myself, I tend to want to milk out the maximum life so will try to clean some coils when I should replace them. Someone else might replace at the point I'll try to clean or rehash a coil, and others might keep rehashing a coil at a point when I'll decide to replace it.