Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree75Likes

Thread: Researcher supportive of harm reduction approach

AVF Newbie | Be nice to me

Researcher supportive of harm reduction approach

Hi everyone,
    I am a public health researcher from Melbourne and I am an advocate for harm reduction approach for the smokers who tried thousands of ways to quit, but fail to do so. I have done research in that aspect and found that e-cigarettes were helpful for those people to stop smoking. I am keen to know more about this from the e-cigarette users. Hence, I have joined the forum to gain further understanding. Hope that I would be supported.
    Thanks.
    Aziz
    Noe, gert, Christian R and 7 others like this.

AVF Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by draziz View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I am a public health researcher from Melbourne and I am an advocate for harm reduction approach for the smokers who tried thousands of ways to quit, but fail to do so. I have done research in that aspect and found that e-cigarettes were helpful for those people to stop smoking. I am keen to know more about this from the e-cigarette users. Hence, I have joined the forum to gain further understanding. Hope that I would be supported.
    Thanks.
    Aziz
    No reason why not if you are genuine. What university or institution are you with? Please understand that this is a very controversial topic and vapers understandably feel as though what we do is under attack by government and public health sources. The more open you are about what and who you are the better the co-operation is likely to be. It's very difficult to get good information out to the general public because the press and other media much prefer a sensational story using bad science. A story "man gives up smoking" doesn't make for a good headline.

We're happy to answer any questions but you should probably start with the Royal College of Physicians report entitled "Nicotine without smoke".