Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: I need a pc urgently

AVF Regular

I need a pc urgently

My computers is 7 years old, it keeps going to a checkered screen, I have to turn it off wait till it cools down and restart it.
    I'm sure I could fix it, but it's no longer reliable because of its vintage.
    The new computer needs display port on the graphics card, with enough power to run my 30" Dell monitors.
    If you have one, or have seen some good deals, please let me know.
    This one is driving me nuts.
    Please help, thanks guys.
    If you're in Sydney and are a computer whiz I'll pay you to fix it?
    I can drop it off or you can do it here.

AVF Regular
    Brand newies are cheap as chips these days if you just require the basics. this is the way I would go then just add storage as required

AVF Regular
    disley - im not an expert but have you ever run a clean up program on it? - ive been using this one for many years now on a couple of machines Speed Up Slow Computer, Keep PC and Internet Secure, Freeware Download - IObit -

also whenever i have seen chequered patterns appear on the screen it has been a problem with the graphics card - either not seated properly in the motherboard or could be it is overheating if it has a fan on the graphics card and its not working

also is the computer actually getting hot? - ie is there hot air coming out of the back of the computer when the chequered pattern appears on the screen

AVF Regular
    Grumpy Old man, Living inPerth Northern suburbs
    If the computer restarts after a period there is a good chance its overheating. Check the ventilation ports and grills for build up of fluff etc. Worth a look if you have not already done!! Also check the cpu fan and the heat sink for build up of crap.
    Fatman, LimeB and oneANT like this.
    Because I trust no-one Who tells me FACTS with no proof

AVF Regular